Recipe Monday – Homemade Hamburger Helper

I’d made a few hamburger helpers when I just couldn’t get myself to do anything more, and I noticed I was making it super hard on myself anyway by adding chopped veggies and all other kinds of things to try to make it more healthy. So, this time, I decided to nip it in the bud, and just make my own “helper” too. It came out great! The girls asked for seconds.

1 lb. ground beef
1 cup hot water
2 cups milk
1 1/2 cups elbow macaroni
1 cup cheddar cheese

1 tablespoon cornstarch
2 teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic
1 teaspoon salt
 teaspoon sugar

Directions:

1 Brown ground beef in a large skillet. Drain.
2 Add hot water, milk, pasta and all spices.
3 Bring to a boil, cover, reduce heat and simmer 12 minutes or until pasta is tender.
4 In the last few minutes of cook time, add cheese, stir and re-cover.
5 When pasta is tender and cheese is melted, remove heat and uncover.
6 Let stand about 5 minutes. Sauce will thicken as it stands.
7 Top with additional cheese if you like.

I added sauteed onions, summer squash and bell peppers to this and it was delicious. You can throw in any vegetables you like!

 

About parentwin

Parent of twins, blogger, writer and journalist. I write things. Sometimes people even read them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

