Good Friday in Your Family – Guest Post

Kate Allen, who blogs at Life, Love, Liturgy and at CornDog Mama, has agreed to talk about Good Friday and its implications to all, religious and not. She’s amazing, and if you have any theological qualms or questions, I would point you to her blogs. A very intelligent lady.

In the past couple of weeks I’ve seen moms post about a holiday dilemma: what do I do with my kids on Easter if I’m not religious?  Do I impose my non-religiosity on them?  Or do I fake religiosity and offer them religious concepts I don’t believe in so they can experience religiosity for themselves?

I’m a religious mom, but I face a similar problem.  What do I do with my almost two-and-a-half-year-old today, Good Friday, which is one of the most important days of the Christian year?  It’s a day that means a great deal to me at age thirty, but what can a two-year-old get out of a Good Friday service aside from the desire to squirm and run and fuss when she’s shushed?  Good Friday involves, among other things, lots of kneeling, lots of silence, and lots and lots of words in between the silences.  Oh, and a procession to the cross so that each person can make her or his veneration of it.  Apart from the procession to the cross, there’s positively nothing for a two-year-old to do, much less understand.  

 
So what am I supposed to teach my child about the brutal death of a Jewish man who lived 2,000 years ago–and how?  How am I supposed to explain the concept of sacrifice?  How do I show her that Good Friday is something more than kissing a piece of wood without resorting to a cerebral (and, for her, unintelligible) explanation, on the one hand, or leaving her out altogether, on the other?
 
About parentwin

Parent of twins, blogger, writer and journalist. I write things. Sometimes people even read them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

