Birthday Bash

So, I turned thirty yesterday. And really, for the most part, it was great. It feels just like 29!

The girls spent two days painting me a box for my birthday. Like a produce box. Just an old box, and they saw it and said, you know what mom needs? A painted box. And they were right.

 

Box painting is serious business.

After that, we went over to my friend Yasmin’s house. She’d made me a cake, she said.

Now, when I make a cake, I pour a mix into a bowl with a few eggs and water and cook it for a half hour. Usually, I’ll make my own frosting, but that also only takes a few minutes.

These friends of mine, they’re a different type of folk. A really good, really nice couple. But they do things like grind their own sausage. They do things like grow their own yeast. They serve me things like this for lunch:

And this:

 

READ MORE

About parentwin

Parent of twins, blogger, writer and journalist. I write things. Sometimes people even read them.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

