What Is Up with Sizing?

I don’t know what size I am.

This is not because I’ve changed size. I’ve been the same weight and shape, basically, since my teens.

Now, I started out in a size 10-12, but I wore my clothing much looser back then (per the fashion), and it was a revelation to me that I was actually an 8. And I’ll believe it (why not?). I’ll believe that I’ve been an 8 this whole time. Sure.

That’s basically what I’ve been wearing since I found that the size fits me.

But then you get the stretch material. In stretch material, I can pull off a 6. Because of the forgiving material, I don’t bulge, and the way the fabric fits, it acts like a little makeshift corset, toning and curving, not squishing and jamming.

Yay! I’ve gone from a size 12 to a size 6, just by wearing differently styled clothing. Amazing.

And I’ll take it. Why not?

What I won’t accept, what I cannot accept is that I am a size 2. That I am an extra small. What the hell? That’s not even complimentary, that’s just confusing.

READ MORE:

About parentwin

Parent of twins, blogger, writer and journalist. I write things. Sometimes people even read them.
This entry was posted in Parent Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Is Up with Sizing?

  1. maryfollowsthelamb says:

    It’s actually called “vanity sizing” to make people think they are smaller than they really are like the trick mirrors in dressing rooms.

Leave a Reply

