How to Explain Your Life to an Outsider

Did you know I had more sanity when I was a working mom? My house wasn’t as clean (and as you know, it’s no prize right now, anyway), I felt as if I would break at any point. There was no relief.

Except I had a 45-minute commute each way. I thought, I listened to music, I went over my day, straightened my thoughts, talked to friends and family. I had an hour and a half of highway driving all to myself.

What a glorious gift.

I thought often during those rides about how awesome my life would be if I could only be a stay at home mom. My housework would get done. My kids would be played with (God, I missed my kids). And I’d have so much time. I’d have an extra nine hours a day. With all that time every single day, how could things not be perfect?

Boy, was I wrong.

 

READ MORE:

About parentwin

Parent of twins, blogger, writer and journalist. I write things. Sometimes people even read them.
This entry was posted in Article Responses, Working World and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

