Epic Journey

I have never been so happy about fake fruit in a bowl in my life as I was last night.

Remember last year, we ended up at a hotel after our Christmas Odyssey? A year later and we’re at a hotel again.

But let’s back up. You know how a few days ago I posted about our traveling travesty? Our plane ride back was pretty much exactly the same. Happy, cheerful girls, on permanent maximum volume for the entire three hours, plus the half hour we waited on the tarmac.

We finally get off the plane and wait forever for our bags. We go out to the shuttle area at area 35. Our shuttle will arrive at area 3. That’s a long walk with two toddlers, let me tell you. So, we’re waiting at the area for what seems like forever.

My husband says to me, “This is the last time we use a hotel parking service. Back to car lots for us. This is ridiculous.” Actually, it was the best thing that could have happened to us.

Bags are in the trunk, girls are strapped down. In the passenger seat, I plug in the navigation on my phone. My husband turns the key. Nothing. He turns it again. The car is completely dead. It’s 10 p.m., we’re two hours from home after spending six hours traveling so far, and my car is dead.

Awesome.

READ MORE:

About parentwin

Parent of twins, blogger, writer and journalist. I write things. Sometimes people even read them.
This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

