Minus One Pregnancies and Abortions

“My body, my choice.”

Simple, isn’t it? Pro-choice opinion with all of it’s reasoning and nuances wrapped up in a simple, catchy slogan. It makes it easy. I’m pro-choice. I believe that a woman’s body is her domain and no one else has the right to tell her what she can and can’t do with it.

But is it, perhaps, too easy? The problem with catch-phrases is that they remove the thought necessary to really form an educated opinion, so that when faced with the specifics of certain situations, people can then say, oh, yeah, but that, that’s different. And they’re never forced to re-examine their view. They separate situations, and still feel like they can say that they fully believe in one, without looking at the larger implications.

This article in the New York Times is what forced me to really think about this topic. Because if I were truly all about choice, then the concept of terminating one twin fetus and keeping the other one because parents only wanted one child would not squick me out.

But it does a little. I don’t know if it’s because I have twins, or what, and don’t get me wrong, I’d never say to a woman having this done that she was wrong. I don’t believe she is, intellectually speaking. But I can’t help the distant rumble in my gut at the idea. Or, at least I couldn’t without sitting down and really thinking about it, really thinking about my stance on abortion.

 

READ MORE:

About parentwin

Parent of twins, blogger, writer and journalist. I write things. Sometimes people even read them.
This entry was posted in In the News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

