Traitors

Lest I ever get an inflated sense of my importance, my babies are always ready to show me how easily their love and favor is dispensed.

Got a piece of candy or a friendly smile? You’re in.

As mom, on the other hand, I can smile at them all I want and I’m still a cruel obstacle lying in their path, blocking them from all the fun they could be having should I just let them take over. Why won’t I give up that control. Clearly, I’m some sort of meany-pants jerkface, and I can just keep my smile to myself. Bribing them with candy? Well, they’ll accept the sweet, but they’ll side-eye me, letting me know that the perilous truce we have forged for that day is not solidified by my gift.

 

READ MORE:

About parentwin

Parent of twins, blogger, writer and journalist. I write things. Sometimes people even read them.
This entry was posted in Family Dynamics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

