Speech Delays…or Not

“Whadda doodin’, Dulce?”

“I’m go-din’ home. Whadda you doodin’?

“You’s go-din’ home? I go-din home, too!”

“Hello, feet. Nie to mee choo.”

I’m not concerned with my babies’ speech.  Maybe I should be. It seems everyone else with kids younger than mine who speak more is getting their children tested for delays and worrying over every pronounciation and stutter. 

Dulce will sometimes spend a minute or so saying “I-I-I-I-I” before her brain figures out exactly where she was going with that thought, and she spits the rest out.  Both of them will insert a “d” into any word with two syllables to help split the word up. “Doodin’, go-din.” They don’t usually pronounce “l”, or “t”. “Fahh down,” “sip” instead of slip, “sop” instead of “stop.” They will sometimes add sounds to words. “Cwamwha” (camera), or “small” for mall.

They’re speaking in complete sentences for the most part. They understand pronouns, subjects, objects, conjunctions and prepositions. The words don’t always make it unscathed past their toddler tongues, but I’m just not worried about it.

I’m not saying I’m right. I’m just too busy being proud to be worried. I mean, yes, many people can’t understand the babies. I, myself, have to use context clues a lot of the time. They’re certainly not clear. And they are almost three. They probably should be further along. They didn’t even say much of anything until they turned two. Most kids (at least the ones you hear about on the internet) have a vocabulary of 50 words or something at 18-20 months. Wow. Good for them, eh?

So, I spend a lot of my internet time commenting to parents who think their kids might have a speech delay. I tell them that my kids didn’t speak at all until two, and now they speak all the time.  I’m careful not to tell them that they shouldn’t be concerned. I don’t know if they should or not. But I think sometimes it helps parents to hear about other kids who are just as slow or slower than theirs. Still, maybe I’m wrong. Because it’s not like my kids are dictating flawlessly pronounced dissertations or anything.  Conversations go more like this:

“Pwaygwound. Please. Park. Pwaygwound, mama. Sides, sings. My pwaygwound.”

“We’ll go to the playground after breakfast. Yes, on the slides and swings, too.”

“No! No bwekfast. No hungy. No danks.”

“Yes. Breakfast now.”

“No. No! No bwekfast, mama. No, no, no, no, NO NO NO NONONONONONO.”

Well, at least they pronouce no, correctly.

___

Please consider voting for me here! They restarted and I lost my ranking. And if you really love me…Babble is the most important ranking to me, and I’d love you forever.  xxoo

Tales of an Unlikely Mother is on Babble.com. We’re number 14, just scroll down and click on the thumbs up!

 

About parentwin

Parent of twins, blogger, writer and journalist. I write things. Sometimes people even read them.
This entry was posted in Development and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

