We’re All Stopped Up

One of my daughters hasn’t pooped in two days.

I’ve been trying to think of an interesting blog topic for everyone today, and I can’t because over and over in my mind I hear myself worrying. I hear the same sentence.

One of my daughters hasn’t pooped in two days.

First, this can’t be good for her little intestines. She’s acting normal and happy, running around, playing, and yet, she must be full up.

I haven’t changed her diet at all. I have no idea how this could have happened. Did she hold it because she didn’t want to interrupt playing for potty time? Has her body chemistry changed so that her normal diet is insufficient in some way?

Before the stoppage, she was clearly having trouble for a few days but still going.

The doctor told me to give her Miralax. Great idea in theory. Have you ever tried to get a toddler to drink a chalky disgusting mix, though? We’ve not been incredibly successful with it over here.

The implications of this are dire. I assume I’ll eventually fix the problem, so right now I’m not worried about her long-term health. I know a lot of toddlers go through this. My mother consoling told me that I went through it as a toddler, too. Only, that wasn’t consoling at all. This could set us back months in the almost completed potty training. This could put us back to square one only worse because she’ll be fearful of pain while going.

My daughter has not pooped in two days.

If you need me, I’ll be at the grocery store, stocking up on prunes.

___
If you like this blog, please vote for it at Tales of an Unlikely Mother on Babble.com. We’re number 15, just scroll down and click on the thumbs up! It’s quick and easy to do!

About parentwin

Parent of twins, blogger, writer and journalist. I write things. Sometimes people even read them.
This entry was posted in Potty and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

